Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting

From Terminals
Jump to: navigation, search

Deleting a page is a straightforward operation for anyone with sysop permissions. Users without such permissions can still remove text from wiki pages, or propose/request that a page should be deleted. See Help:Deleting a page.


Before deleting

Sysops should also be aware of the general advice given on Help:Deleting a page. (It should be noted that, in particular, there are many situations where a deleting is too drastic. For example, a redirect is often more appropriate).

Before deleting you could perform various checks:

The care taken over these things might depend on the size of the wiki community, and how clear-cut the case for deletion is. Remember that only sysop users can undo a delete action, so to a normal user the information appears to be lost forever.

Use the 'delete' tab

Sysops should see a 'delete' tab at the top of every page. Click this to delete the page. You will be asked to confirm, and to supply a "Reason for deletion". This is a short textual description of why the page is being deleted. Your action will appear on the recent changes display, and in the deletion log (Special:Log).


To undelete a page you must navigate to the exact page name of the page. You can find this in the deletion log (Special:Log) if you dont remember it.

You should then see a link to "View or restore n deleted edits". Tick the box next to the revision you wish to restore.

Configuring deletion reasons

The list of reasons in the dropdown box is maintained at MediaWiki:Deletereason-dropdown.

Personal tools